Saint of the Day St. Brigid

stbrigidakildare9

Yes, this is St Brigid of Kildare, Ireland not Sweden. Her Feast Day is today February 1st. Many will be celebrating her Feast Day at Mass today. I know it may sound weird for making that distinction, but I wanted to clarify this.  For so many people that I have encountered, confuse this saint. Also, I have a personal patronage to this Saint by my namesake; it is important to me. She is the 2nd Patron Saint of Ireland Next To Patrick. That is a somewhat literal statement as she is buried next to him. So it is a great way to enter the second month of the year with a Saint we shall enter the month of Love. In addition, to that, she is incredibly important as far as Irish Saints go. She is also not the replacement goddess of Ireland, which I am many aware places her as because they share the same name. But Being that she was a child of both a chief and slave. One pagan and the other Christian. She shares a vision of both worlds. Hence, the name of a goddess was important to the Irish, and in the same token, she was in a way a symbol of Ireland being baptized into Christianity thus into the Renewal of Creation and renewed into a saint. Her her life reflected love endowed with grace by living a life of poverty, chastity, and obedience so much in fact that She is also known for being the Mary of the Gaels.  Most Irish Catholics would name their children Brigid. For a Catholic nation that might be strange instead of Mary not because Mary was not important, but rather she was so important that they felt that name was sacred to dishonor the Mother of the New Creation. It would be Jesus’s Mother if you sinned with the name of His Mother you could not be honoring her name. So thinking in this way it would be sacrilege to have the same name as Mary. But having a name that is closest to her name would better Honor Christ and His Mother. Also, I am talking about this in the context of Pre-modern Times in Ireland. I would suggest reading the Diary account of St Brigid. To truly understand her devotion. Here is a Quote from her and HAPPY FEAST DAY!

9994117_orig“I would like the angels of Heaven to be among us. I would like an abundance of peace. I would like full vessels of charity. I would like rich treasures of mercy. I would like cheerfulness to preside over all. I would like Jesus to be present. I would like the three Marys of illustrious renown to be with us. I would like the friends of Heaven to be gathered around us from all parts. I would like myself to be a rent payer to the Lord; that I should suffer distress, that he would bestow a good blessing upon me. I would like a great lake of beer for the King of Kings. I would like to be watching Heaven’s family drinking it through all eternity.”

This week is a little rough but here is a little more on her Biography: http://www.irishabroad.com/ireland/irish-culture/stbrigidirishsaint.asp

Leave a Reply

